Madlib Releasing New Rarities Album as Alter Ego Quasimoto

Enigmatic Cali producer/rapper digs through the vaults for 'Yessir Whatever'

While insanely prolific hip hop producer/rapper Madlib has steadily released countless tracks both under his own name and as producer for others, his helium-voiced alter ego Quasimoto has been slightly more reclusive. After 2000's The Unseen, a few random singles and 2005's The Further Adventures of Lord Quas, Quas retreated, leaving his normal-voiced creator to seemingly produce 300 tracks a day on the regular.

Glorious day for Quas fans, though, as Madlib's label Stones Throw announced the June 18 release of Quas's third album Yessir Whatever, a collection of a dozen tracks recorded over a 12-year period. If the first single, "Planned Attack," is any indication, expect mid-90s boom-bap drums to sidle up against hypnotic 4/20-ready melodies.

As Stones Throw notes, "A few were released on rare & out-of-print vinyl, while a few others are previously unreleased, now mixed and mastered for the first time. Take two & pass."

Yessir Whatever Tracklist

1. Broad Factor
2. Seasons Change
3. The Front
4. Youngblood
5. Astronaut
6. Planned Attack
7. Brothers Can’t See Me
8. Catchin’ the Vibe
9. Am I Confused?
10. Sparkdala
11. Green Power
12. LAX to JFK


User Comments


Photo of the day

June 24: Nicki Minaj Shows Off Her Greatest Asset

June 24: Nicki Minaj Shows Off Her Greatest Asset

Bang Bang! Hip hop goddess Nicki Minaj stripped down to her skivvies for the cover of her latest single, "Anaconda." Minaj is taking The Pink Print very seriously, donning a g-string and halter top bra in her favorite hue. If the songs is as sexy as the artwork, we're not complaining!