April 19, 2012


Red Hot Chili Peppers Cover David Bowie, Beach Boys, Neil Young On New EP

Ellen von Unwerth
Ellen von Unwerth

On the heels of their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Red Hot Chili Peppers are honoring their Hall of Fame forefathers with the May 1 release of We Salute You, a 6-song cover EP featuring the music of David Bowie, The Beach Boys, The Ramones, Iggy and the Stooges, Neil Young and Dion and the Belmonts.

Each of the artists have influenced the group musically, with half of the tracks coming from previous live performances. Five of the six tracks have never been available digitally, with the sixth, Young's "Everybody Knows This is Nowhere," recorded live during the band's current tour.

Red Hot Chili Peppers were inducted by Chris Rock at the 27th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, April 14. We've been longtime fans of RHCP's most famous cover, so we're amped to hear the guys take on punk, surf, glam and doo wop.


1. Dion and the Belmonts - "A Teenager in Love"
2. The Ramones - "Havana Affair"
3. Iggy and the Stooges - "Search & Destroy"
4. Neil Young - "Everybody Knows This is Nowhere" [live]
5. The Beach Boys - "I Get Around" [live]
6. David Bowie - "Suffragette City" [live]