October 9, 2012


Death Cab for Cutie Frontman Ben Gibbard Streams Solo Album

Joe Scarnici
Joe Scarnici

We've heard plenty of Ben Gibbard through the career of Death Cab for Cutie, but now's the moment he flies solo. His Death Cab-less debut album, Former Lives, arriving Oct. 16 through Barsuk Records, is now streaming via the YouTube video below.

The collection is full of new songs and older ones only ever played live. "The record is something of a mixed bag," Gibbard, somewhat recently divorced from Zooey Deschanel, told Stereogum in July. "The songs themselves are not all of a particular mode—they’re not all about one subject—and they’re not from one definitive era of my life... I think that people will kind of see past the fact that one song has a mariachi band, the next song is acoustic—it’s all over the map—but I’m really proud of the tunes and how they came together in the studio."

Enjoy the storylike tunes and the stylistic diversity. Here's the tracklist, along with time stamps so you can know what you're hearing:

1) Shepherd's Bush Lullaby (00:00 - 00:47)
2) Dream Song (00:48 - 04:21)
3) Teardrop Windows (04:22-07:08)
4) Bigger Than Love (07:09 - 11:56)
5) Lily (11:57 - 13:57 )
6) Something's Rattling (Cowpoke) (13:58 - 17:48)
7) Duncan, Where Have You Gone? (17:49 - 21:34)
8) Oh, Woe (21:36 - 24:25)
9) A Hard One to Know (24:26 - 27:06)
10) Lady Adelaide (27:07 - 30:40)
11) Broken Yolk in Western Sky (30:41 - 34:13)
12) I'm Building A Fire (34:14 - 36:48)