November 12, 2012


My Morning Jacket's Jim James Announces Solo Debut

Tim Mosenfelder
Tim Mosenfelder

While he continues to tour off the back of My Morning Jacket's 2011 album Circuital, frontman Jim James doesn't really know the meaning of "down time." The singer just announced his debut solo album Regions of Light and Sound of God, set for release February 5 via ATO.

James plays every instrument on the nine-song album, and was inspired by Lynd Ward's 1929 novel "God's Man," which "chronicles an artist's struggles with temptation and corruption, along with finding true love," according to Pitchfork

"I wanted the album to sound like it came from a different place in time," James said in a release. "Perhaps sounding as if it were the past of the future, if that makes any sense—like a hazy dream that a fully-realized android or humanoid capable of thought might have when it reminisces about the good old days of just being a simple robot."

My Morning Jacket is set to perform at Boston's Agganis Arena on New Year's Eve.


1. “State Of The Art (A.E.I.O.U)”
2. “Know Til Now”
3. “Dear One”
4. “A New Life”
5. “Exploding”
6. “Of The Mother Again”
7. “Actress”
8. “All Is Forgiven”
9. “God’s Love To Deliver”