November 19, 2012


Puscifer Unveil New EP Details

C Flanigan
C Flanigan

Tool and A Perfect Circle frontman Maynard James Keenan is set to return February 19 with his other band, Puscifer, which will release a new EP. Its title: Donkey Punch the Night. How fitting.  

The eight-song EP arrives with two new tracks, "Breathe" and "Dear Brother" (plus remixes), and covers of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" and Accept's "Balls to the Wall."

"While continuing our tradition of releasing a few new songs at a time, I also had an itch that needed scratching, and that itch was 'Balls to the Wall,'" Keenan said in a statement, referencing the title of a new EP track. "[That] was followed by an even harder to reach itch known as 'Bohemian Rhapsody.'  And scratch them we did."

Donkey Punch the Night was recorded at Keenan's home in Jerome, Arizona--where he also runs his Caduceus Cellars wine vineyards--with the same band behind Puscifer's 2011 LP Conditions of My Parole. Each track gets a remix, too, with contributions coming from Drumcell, Big Black Delta (aka Jonathan Bates, touring guitarist for M83), Sonoio (aka Italian multi-instrumentalist Alessandro Cortini, the touring keyboardist for Muse and NIN) and Silent Servant.   

Donkey Punch the Night track list: 

1.  Bohemian Rhapsody "O.G. Mix"
2.  Breathe
3.  Dear Brother
4.  Balls To The Wall "PIllow Fight Mix"
5.  Breathe "Drumcell rework"
6.  Dear Brother "Denton rework" (Big Black Delta)
7.  Balls To The Wall "Silent Servant El Guapo Mix"
8.  Bohemian Rhapsody "Sonoio rework"