January 8, 2013


David Bowie Announces First New Album in 10 Years

Larry Busacca
Larry Busacca

Rock icon/connoisseur of cool David Bowie turns 66 today but he's giving us a gift: the announcement of his first new album in 10 years. The Next Day is Bowie's 30th studio recording, his first album since 2003's Reality and is set to drop March 12. Bowie's also released a new single, "Where Are We Now?"

"Where Are We Now?" was written by Bowie, produced by longtime collaborator Tony Visconti and recorded in New York. According to Bowie's official website, the video, directed by installation artist Tony Oursler, "harks back to David's time in Berlin." Read: Watch an electronic cut-out of David Bowie's head on some kind of static figure (wearing a Snuggie?) in front of a big screen playing images of late-'70s Berlin.

Check out the The Next Day track list below as well as Bowie's latest video, "Where Are We Now?"

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love Is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine's Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I'd Rather Be High
9. Boss Of Me
10. Dancing Out In Space
11. How Does The Grass Grow
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat