January 24, 2013


Depeche Mode Set Release Date for 13th Album 'Delta Machine'


Last October, Depeche Mode released an "in-studio collage" for their new album, which is just hipster British speak for "album preview." The video featured the New Wave gods mucking about in a New York studio, brooding over the city skyline and planning their continued worldwide domination with synths and wings, all set to a soundtrack of their throbbing new song "Angel."

And now we finally have more details about the band's new release. It's called Delta Machine and will drop March 26, with the first single "Heaven" set for release on February 1. In a statement, the group said that the album will feature a "28-page hardcover book including photos by longtime artistic collaborator Anton Corbijn," which we can only assume will involve pics of the band wearing leather pants while skulking around Essex alleys.

Guitarist Martin Gore said, “Writing this album was incredibly daunting as I wanted the sound of this collection to be very modern. I want people to feel good about listening to this record, to get some kind of peace. It’s just got something magical about it.”

Added frontman Dave Gahan: “With this release we’ve completely shifted our idea of how to create an album. When we hit a wall where we realize the album is beginning to sound too normal, we’ll mess it up and really give it that organic Depeche Mode Sound. Delta Machine is no different, and I can’t wait for all of our fans to hear it.”

In an interview with Consequence of Sound last year, Gahan laid out the process of recording a new DM album. "For the best part of this year, we’ve been bashing away at it," said Gahan. "And we did a bunch of writing last year, towards the end of last year...I sort of promised myself after the last Depeche Mode tour that I was going to take a break [laughs], but I kind of got busier. It’s always that way."

Check out the full track list below, featuring the very Depeche Mode-sounding titles "My Little Universe," "Broken" and "The Child Inside." Someone really needs to do a "Depeche Mode Song Title Generator" at this point. 

Delta Machine Tracklist

1. Welcome To My World
2. Angel
3. Heaven
4. Secret To The End
5. My Little Universe
6. Slow
7. Broken
8. The Child Inside
9. Soft Touch/Raw Nerve
10. Should Be Higher
11. Alone
12. Soothe My Soul
13. Goodbye