January 24, 2013


The Flaming Lips Reveal "Bleak" & "Disturbing" New Album

Shahar Azran
Shahar Azran

Surprise! The Flaming Lips have a new LP—The Terror—dropping on April 2. Based on the press release, the LP's menacing title isn't meant to be tongue-in-cheek: "Why would we make this music that is The Terror, this bleak, disturbing record?" Wayne Coyne asks. "I don't really want to know the answer that I think is coming. Maybe this is the beginning of the answer."

Back on planet earth, the Lips will star in a Super Bowl commercial that will feature a brand-new tune called "Sun Blows Up Today." Despite being a non-album track, it will be available as a free download with pre-orders of The Terror on January 29 (just five days from now!).

Aside from the LP's horror movie-esque title, the tracklist also seems to point toward a darker direction for the Lips. For example, "You Are Alone," "Turning Violent" and "Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die" aren't exactly the kind of songs you'd expect to cheer someone up. Unless they suffer from a crippling fear of butterflies.

Check out the full tracklist below and tune in for the Flaming Lips' Super Bowl commercial appearance on February 3.

The Terror
1. "Look...The Sun Is Rising"
2. "Be Free, A Way"
3. "Try To Explain"
4. "You Lust"
5. "The Terror"
6. "You Are Alone"
7. "Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die"
8. "Turning Violent"
9. "Always There...In Our Hearts"