January 14, 2013


Yeah Yeah Yeahs Unveil New Songs, Album Title & Cover Art

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs are back, you guys! The New York City trio hit up Pomona, California's Glass House venue last week to surprise fans with a handful of new tunes (watch below), and today they unveiled their new album title and cover art: Mosquito, the band's fouth studio album, will drop April 16! 

As for the cover art, well... Mom always said if you can't say anything nice, then don't say anything at all, so these lips are sealed. But did anyone else pick up Bizarro World-Toy Story vibes?

Mosquito was recorded at Sonic Ranch in Tornilla, TX, and produced by Nick Launay, who worked on YYYs' 2009 LP It's Blitz, and TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek. LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy also produced one track, which features a guest spot from Kool Keith, aka Dr. Octagon!

Newly blonde frontwoman Karen O says Mosquito is meant to make fans "feeeeel something" again. "SO much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off. I hope others can climb up it too; we’re excited to share the good vibes.”

Check out two new tracks from the band's Pomona appearance below: "Suck Young Blood" and "Earth."