April 16, 2013


'The Great Gatsby' Soundtrack: Listen to 30-Second Previews

It was a wonderful—yet frustrating—day when we heard snippets of new music from Beyonce, Florence Welch and Lana Del Rey in The Great Gatsby trailer. Sure we got a taste of the soundtrack Jay-Z is executive producing, but we needed more!

Earlier today, we were thrown a bone with the Fergie/Q-Tip/GoonRock track “A Little Party Never Killed Nobody” today. But now, we've been given the full album...in bite-sized, 30-second clips amounts. We're not complaining.

From what we’re hearing, early highlights will definitely be Emeli Sande’s jazzed-up cover of Bey’s “Crazy in Love” featuring a full orchestra. We love the new track from The xx bringing their haunting, minimalist electronic rock for “Together.” And the album closer, “Kill and Run” by Sia, sounds like it’s going to be a real tearjerker.

Curiously, tracks by Jay-Z's "100$ Bill" and the Beyonce/Andre 3000 cover of Amy Winehouse's "Back to Black" aren't in the official sampler. Perhaps to add even more anticipation.

It’s too soon to tell if the soundtrack is Oscar-worthy…but we’re really liking what we’re hearing. Take a listen to the tracks above and let us know which one you’re dying to hear in full the most.

Check out the full tracklist below and follow along as you listen:

1. “Bang Bang” – will.i.am
2. “A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got)” – Fergie, Q-Tip & GoonRock
3. “Young And Beautiful” – Lana Del Rey
4. “Love Is the Drug” – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
5. “Over the Love” – Florence & The Machine
6. “Where The Wind Blows” – Coco O. of Quadron
7. “Crazy in Love” – Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
8. “Together” – The xx
9. “Hearts a Mess” – Gotye
10. “Love Is Blindness” – Jack White
11. “Into the Past” – Nero
12. “Kill and Run” – Sia