November 25, 2013


Bruce Springsteen Announces 18th Studio Album, 'High Hopes'

The Boss is back, baby!

Bruce Springsteen—a formative influence on artists like Arcade Fire, The Gaslight Anthem and countless others—has unveiled details and new music from his 18th (!!!) studio album, High Hopes. Set to drop on January 14 via Columbia, the 12-track record features nine originals and three cover songs, including the title track and first single, originally penned by Florida-bred blues rocker Tim Scott McConnell. Watch the music video for "High Hopes" above.  

Springsteen's version of "High Hopes" pairs his gritty rock vocal with stomping percussion and bursts of horns. The track also features a gnarly solo by Rage Against the Machine guitarist-gone-solo Tom Morello, a regular collaborator and live guest of the E Street Band. Their new collaboration started when Morello joined Springsteen on tour in Australia in March, 2013, sitting in for Steve Van Zandt. On High Hopes, Morello plays on eight of the 12 tracks, including duetting with Springsteen on a new version of "The Ghost of Tom Joad."

In a statement, Springsteen said Morello became "my muse, pushing the rest of this project to another level."

Recorded in New Jersey, Los Angeles, Atlanta, Australia and New York City, High Hopes finds Springsteen performing with the entire E Street Band, plus "many additional players." The album also has previously recorded material from E Streeters Clarence Clemons and Danny Federici, who passed away in 2011 and 2008, respectively. 

Check out the full album tracklist below. High Hopes is available for preorder via Amazon.

1. High Hopes (Tim Scott McConnell) *
2. Harry’s Place *
3. American Skin (41 Shots) *
4. Just Like Fire Would (Chris J. Bailey) *
5. Down In The Hole
6. Heaven’s Wall *
7. Frankie Fell In Love
8. This Is Your Sword
9. Hunter Of Invisible Game *
10. The Ghost of Tom Joad *
11. The Wall
12. Dream Baby Dream (Martin Rev and Alan Vega) *

* featuring Tom Morello