January 8, 2014


Roadie Playlist: Alvarez Kings

Yorkshire-based Alvarez Kings have dubbed themselves a "progressive indie pop" act and it's a hard descriptor to disagree with. The band's two latest singles, "No Resolve" and "Postcards from Berlin," heavily highlight Simon Thompson's vocal melodies and mostly airy, atmospheric guitars. 

WARPED ROADIES » New episodes Wednesday at 11/10C!

Thompson's vocals are the kind that sound effortlessly laid back while still packing a ton of emotion, which is why it's so rewarding when the rest of the band explodes during the bridge of "No Resolve." There's a lot to appreciate here from a musical standpoint, so it's no surprise that the group is projected to break out in the States soon – they're already a fairly well-known name in their home country. 

WARPED TOUR » Check out the 2014 lineup so far

Part of the band's uptick in popularity in America came courtesy of the 2013 Vans Warped Tour, where the group spent all summer getting acquainted with plenty of new fans. Featured on tonight's brand-new episode of Warped Roadies is a portion of the tour when Thompson was absent from the band – determined for the show to still go on, the group called on William Beckett and Echosmith to jump in and lend a hand on vocals.

That's why it's no surprise to see both Beckett and Echosmith featured on Alvarez Kings' Roadie Playlist, which you can listen to below. The mix highlights fellow UK bands like Bring Me The Horizon, Arctic Monkeys and Foals, along with Warped brethren Citizen!

Don't forget to watch Warped Roadies at 11/10C, and you can follow @WarpedRoadies as Alvarez Kings live-tweets the episode tonight!