April 24, 2014


Big Freedia Drops "Explode," Announces 'Just Be Free' Album

The Queen Diva is back! With the June premiere of Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce coming up fast, Big Freedia has dropped "Explode," the first single off her upcoming Just Be Free album.

In true Freedia fashion, "Explode" is a nonstop, booty-bouncing anthem where the twerk queen commands, "Release your wiggle / Release your anger / Release your mind / Release your job / Release the time." Listen above.

"The idea behind 'Explode' is that it was the way I was feeling, like I'm going to explode," she told Rolling Stone about the banger. "Being on the road, being in a relationship, I have a lot of stress and I feel like I'm about to explode. Also, when I'm on stage, I feel like I'm going to explode. That's why I say 'release your wiggle.' This made sense for it to be the first single because I want people to know that I'm coming out with a bang."

The New Orleans star also talked about her new album, her first concept record. She explained, "We live in a society where we have a lot of liberties. It’s just not like this everywhere in the world. This album is my first studio recorded album where I came up with concepts beforehand. So much of my music is appreciated live, but I think these tracks are one you can listen to at a late-night twerk party or an afternoon barbecue and enjoy!"

Just Be Free is available for pre-order on iTunes before dropping June 17. Like Freedia told us at SXSW, "The new album drops as soon as the TV show drops," so look out for Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce Season 2 to premiere on Fuse on June 11. Check out the tracklist below:

1. Turn Da Beat Up
2. Dangerous
3. N.O. Bounce
4. Jump On It
5. Lift Dat Leg Up
6. Ol' Lady
7. Where My Queens At
8. Explode
9. Y'Tootsay
10. Mo Azz

Season 2 of Big Freedia: Queen on Bounce is coming to Fuse this June! Check out the channel finder to find Fuse in your area, and catch up with Big Freedia Season 1 right here!