April 29, 2014


Linkin Park Tap Tom Morello, System of the Down Guitarist for 'Hunting Party'

Michael Tran/FilmMagic
Michael Tran/FilmMagic

Hard-rock band Linkin Park are returning this June with their sixth studio album The Hunting Party and they've tapped a handful of special guests to help the rap-rock cause. Featured on the album is Rage Against the Machine guitar whiz Tom Morello, System of a Down guitarist Daron Malakian, Helmet's Page Hamilton and rapper Rakim. It's like the '90s had a meeting and came up with their ultimate Linkin Park fantasy. 

The Hunting Party has 12 tracks and is a departure from how they usually write music. In an interview with Premier Guitar, Brad Nelson said that the band wrote in the studio as opposed to bringing music in to record. Vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Mike Shinoda bluntly said: "It’s a rock record. It’s loud and it’s rock, but not in the sense of what you’ve heard before, which is more like ‘90s Hardcore-Punk-Thrash."

The album is slated to arrive on June 17. Stream the first single, "Guilty All the Same" featuring Rakim, below, and check out the tracklist, too.

1. Keys to the Kingdom

2. All for Nothing (featuring Page Hamilton)

3. Guilty All the Same (featuring Rakim)

4. The Summoning

5. War

6. Wastelands

7. Until It's Gone

8. Rebellion (featuring Daron Malakian)

9. Mark the Graves

10. Drawbar (featuring Tom Morello)

11. Final Masquerade

12. A Line in the Sand