May 6, 2014


Shabazz Palaces Return With Warped New Single "They Come in Gold"

This past weekend, Seattle's futuristic hip-hop collective Shabazz Palaces announced their new album Lese Majesty hits July 29, and today they're sharing the first song. 

Titled "They Come in Gold," the track picks right up where their debut album Black Up left off in 2011. It's a mellow, warped number that features Ishmael Butler's unique drawl, rapping about revelry, money, joy and copping out in his trademark, stream-of-conscious fashion. 

Check out the new song above and gander at the Lese Majesty tracklist below, which is divided into seven "suites."

Suite 1: “The Phasing Shift”

1. “Dawn In Luxor” 
2. “Forerunner Foray” 
3. “They Come In Gold”

Suite 2: “Touch & Agree”

4. “Solemn Swears” 
5. “Harem Aria” 
6. “Noetic Noiromantics” 
7. “The Ballad of Lt. Major Winnings”

Suite 3: “Palace War Council Meeting” 

8. “Soundview” 
9. “Ishmael” 
10. “Down 155th In The MCM Snorkel”

Suite 4: “Pleasure Milieu” 

11. “Divine Of Form” 
12. “#Cake”

Suite 5: “Federal Bureau Boys” 

13. “Colluding Oligarchs”
14. “Suspicion Of A Shape”

Suite 6: “High Climb To The Gallows” 

15. “Mind Glitch Keytar Theme” 
16. “Motion Sickness”

Suite 7: “Murkings On The Oxblood Starway” 

17. “New Black Wave”
18. “Sonic Myth Map For The Trip Back”