July 21, 2015


The Complete Guide to the 2015 Alternative Press Music Awards

Getty Images
Getty Images

What is it?

The Alternative Press Music Awards (the shorthand is the APMAs) are Alternative Press magazine's annual award show. This is the second year. The show promises to highlight the alternative (duh) and underground music the mag and its website promotes on the daily.

Last year Blink-182's Mark Hoppus hosted; this year Alex Gaskarth and Jack Barakat of All Time Low get the honor. It takes place this Wednesday, July 22.

Where is it?

Alternative Press is based in Cleveland, Ohio, so the ceremony is held at the city's Quicken Loans Arena. 

How can I watch?

AXS TV will be broadcasting the entire show starting at 6:30 PM EST. The red carpet pre-show starts a bit earlier, at 4 PM EST. For those outside the U.S. and Canada, the APMAs will be streamable on the Alt Press YouTube channel here.

Who's playing?

Just about everybody: Weezer, Pierce The Veil, Panic! At The Disco, Rob Zombie, All Time Low, New Found Glory with Hayley Williams, Taking Back Sunday, Slipknot's Corey Taylor, Simple Plan, Halestorm, DMC of Run DMC, Black Veil Brides, Sum 41, Motionless In White, Issues' Tyler Carter with PVRIS and Mike Herrera of MXPX. 

Okay, cool. But who is presenting the awards?

Amity Affliction, Asking Alexandria, Beartooth, Crossfaith, Drama Club, Every Time I Die, Man Overboard,Major League, Memphis May Fire, Metro Station, Miss May I, Neck Deep, Never Shout Never, New Politics, New Years Day, Silverstein, State Champs and We Came As Romans.

What are the awards? And who is nominated?

Best Vocalist
Tyler Carter (Issues)
Vic Fuentes (Pierce the Veil)
Lynn Gunn (PVRIS)
Adam Lazzara (Taking Back Sunday)
Jeremy McKinnon (A Day to Remember)
Hayley Williams (Paramore)

Best Drummer
Cyrus Bolooki (New Found Glory)
Rian Dawson (All Time Low)
Jake Garland (Memphis May Fire)
Adam Gray (Texas In July)
Matt Greiner (August Burns Red)
Luke Holland (The World Alive)

Best Live Band
A Day to Remember
Panic! At The Disco
twenty one pilots
The Wonder Years

Best Underground Band
Being As An Ocean
The Hotelier
Knuckle Puck
Major League
State Champs
Tigers Jaw

Breakthrough Band
Modern Baseball
Neck Deep
This Wild Life

Most Dedicated Fans
All Time Low (Hustlers)
Crown the Empire (The Runaways)
Fall Out Boy (Overcast Kids)
Motionless in White (Creatures)
Paramore (Parafamily)
twenty one pilots (Skeleton Clique)

Best Bassist
Kyle Fasel (Real Friends)
Jeph Howard (The Used)
Ryan Jay Johnson (letlive.)
Zack Merrick (All Time Low)
Devin "Ghost" Sola (Motionless in White)
Dallon Weekes (Panic! At the Disco)

Song of the Year
Beartooth - "Beaten in Lips"
Motionless in While - "Reincarnate"
Real Friends - "I Don't Love You Anymore"
Set It Off - "Why Worry"
Sleeping with Sirens - "Kick Me"
PVRIS - "My House"

Best International Band
The 1975 (UK)
The Amity Affliction (Australia)
Marmozets (UK)
New Politics (Denmark)
Northlane (Australia)
Crossfaith (Japan)

Album of the Year
Beartooth - Disgusting
Black Veil Brides - Black Veil Brides
Circa Survive - Descensus
Every Time I Die - From Parts Unknown
frnkiero andthe cellabration - Stomachaches
Gerard Way - Hesitant Alien
La Dispute - Rooms of the House
Linkin Park - The Hunting Party
Real Friends - Maybe This Place is the Same and We're Just Changing

Artists Philanthropic Award
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness - Dear Jack Foundation
Bayside - The Human Rights Campaign
Koji - Doctors Without Borders
Jake Luhrs of August Burns Red - HeartSupport
Simple Plan - The Simple Plan Foundation
Taking Back Sunday - American Cancer Society 

Best Guitarist
Arun Bali (Saves the Day)
Jordan Buckley (Every Time I Die)
Tony Perry (Pierce the Veil)
Kevin Skaff (A Day to Remember)
Will Swan (Dance Gavin Dance)
Jacky Vincent (Falling in Reverse)

Tumblr Fandom of the Year
All Time Low
Fall Out Boy
5 Seconds of Summer
Panic! at the Disco
twenty one pilots
The 1975

Best Music Video
Bring Me the Horizon - "Drown"
A Day to Remember - "End of Me"
Fall Out Boy - "Centuries"
Modern Baseball - "Your Graduation"
PVRIS - "St. Patrick"
Set It Off - "Why Worry"

Artist of the Year
Against Me!
Black Veil Brides
Crown the Empire
Motionless in White
New Found Glory
Of Mice & Men
Taking Back Sunday

Got it? Good. Stay tuned to Fuse for the latest on the second annual Alternative Press Music Awards!