October 20, 2015


Blink-182 Has 5 New Songs Recorded with Matt Skiba

Chelsea Lauren/WireImage
Chelsea Lauren/WireImage

If you love Blink-182, the last couple of months have been challenging with the departure of founding member Tom DeLonge, who was replaced by Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba. Fortunately, drummer Travis Barker and bassist Mark Hoppus are moving full speed ahead with the new lineup, and there's already talk of a new record on the horizon.

Today Barker sat down with the NME to let us know what's really going on in the studio. 

On Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba:

"Matt’s killing it. He’s fun to play with and write with. We’re just getting started but I think we’ve got like four or five songs right now that I’m really, really happy with. There’s a song called 'Punk Rock Cliché' which I love the most right now. It's about friends of ours and their relationships."

On Their New Song & New Music:

"The [songs] sound different but still the same. Obviously, it’s Matt Skiba singing, so there’s hints of Alkaline Trio, or at least Matt’s contributions to Alkaline Trio, mixed with my drumming and Mark’s voice and stuff. It’s really cool and I really love what we’ve done so far. The goal here is to come up with an album and just write. We don’t put a limit on how many songs we’re gonna write. [We just] Write a bunch of songs and when we feel like there’s an album ready, there’s an album ready. You know, no pressure, no deadlines."

While you've got Blink on the mind, check out our list of 11 tragically underrated Tom DeLonge songs and click through our list: Where was your favorite punk band on their sixth album?