November 2, 2015


Sam Smith's "Drowning Shadows": Hear the Saddest Song He's Ever Written

Sam Smith's 2014 debut album In the Lonely Hour is getting a deluxe re-release on Friday (Nov. 6). Its subtitle is Drowning Shadows Edition, and we've now got the eponymous track in its entirety.

Smith premiered the mounful, powerful song on Beats 1 on Monday, telling DJ Zane Lowe, "'Drowning Shadows’ the song is the saddest song I’ve ever written and the least radio-friendly song I’ve ever written." With lines like this, it's hard to miss the pain:

The more I drink, the more I drown
If I'm not thinking, I won't get down
The more I rise above it all
The less I care about the fall

On Instagram, Smith wrote, "I’m very proud of this song. It’s insanely personal to me.”

Here's the complete tracklist for In the Lonely Hour (Drowning Shadows Edition), featuring A$AP RockyDisclosureMary J. BligeJohn Legend and covers of Whitney Houston and Amy Winehouse:

Disc One
1. “Money On My Mind”
2. “Good Thing”
3. “Stay With Me”
4. “Leave Your Lover”
5. “I’m Not The Only One”
6. “I’ve Told You Now”
7. “Like I Can”
8. “Life Support”
9. “Not In That Way”
10. “Lay Me Down”
11. “Restart”
12. “Latch (Acoustic)”
13. “La La La”
14. “Make It to Me”

Disc Two
1. “Drowning Shadows”
2. “Love Is a Losing Game”
3. “Nirvana”
4. “How Will I Know?”
5. “Omen (Acoustic)” feat. Disclosure
6. “Latch” feat. Disclosure (Live from Madison Square Garden, New York)
7. “Stay With Me” feat. Mary J. Blige
8. “I’m Not The Only One” feat. A$AP Rocky
9. “Lay Me Down” feat. John Legend