December 17, 2015


Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: N.W.A., Cheap Trick, Chicago Inducted

Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic
Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic

N.W.A., Cheap Trick, Deep Purple, Chicago and Steve Miller have been chosen as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's class of 2016, it has been announced. The five artists will be honored on April 8, 2016 at an induction ceremony at Brooklyn's Barclays Center, which will then air later on HBO next year.

Longlist nominees who did not make the cut this time include Janet Jackson, the Smiths, Chic, Chaka Khan and Nine Inch Nails. Last year's honorees were Lou Reed, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Green Day, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Bill Withers and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band.

"It's hard to sum up exactly what it means," Ice Cube tells Rolling Stone in a new interview about N.W.A. making the cut. "It means a lot of things. It means that the group's mark is kind of solidified. It's all legitimized in a way because the whole music industry has to honor the group in a way. It's just hard to sum up in words, really."

N.W.A. was the subject of a smash biopic, Straight Outta Compton, this year. Cube says that he will "want to" perform at the induction ceremony next spring: "I think we can get Ren, Yella and Dre together. I think Snoop might do an honorary Eazy. I can't speak for him, but we'll ask him. We'll probably ask a few people."