April 24, 2016


Beyoncé Releases Surprise 'Lemonade' Album

Parkwood Entertainment
Parkwood Entertainment

Folks, she's done it again.

Once again, Beyoncé proved she's step ahead of everyone by surprise-releasing her sixth studio album, Lemonade, which premiered as a visual album on HBO. It comes just 28 months and seven days (as of April 20) after doing so with her game-changing self-titled LP. The 12-song set features guest appearances by Jack WhiteThe WeekndJames BlakeKendrick Lamar and includes the poetry of Warsan Shire.

Stream the album on Tidal right here and watch the hour-long, visual album experience here.

The full tracklist to Lemonade reads as:

1. Pray You Catch Me
2. Hold Up
3. Don't Hurt Yourself ft. Jack White
4. Sorry
5. 6 Inch ft. The Weeknd
6. Daddy Lessons
7. Love Drought
8. Sandcastles 
9. Forward ft. James Blake
10. Freedom ft. Kendrick Lamar
11. All Night
12. Formation

The era for Lemonade also began with a surprise when Beyoncé released the single and video for "Formation" on February 2, just hours before performing it at Super Bowl 50.

 The Big Freedia-featuring track previewed the new album and is the title for Bey's upcoming world tour that starts on April 27, and recently announced DJ Khaled as its opening act

Fast forward to the afternoon of April 16, Bey unexpectedly dropped a mysterious teaser for "Lemonade" that indicated something was coming in Beyoncé Land. HBO released the full trailer for "Lemonade" two days later, making fans wonder whether it was the name of the album, song, documentary, or something entirely different. Whatever it was we knew "Lemonade" was coming to HBO on Saturday, April 23. 

We now know Lemonade served as the visual compliment to the album.

Catch up on the full timeline to Beyonce's new album here with the Complete Guide to Lemonade.