April 12, 2016


The Complete Guide to Andy Biersack's Solo Debut, 'The Shadow Side'


Release Date

Black Veil Brides frontman Andy Biersack's solo debut, under the name Andy BLACK, The Shadow Side, will arrive May 6 via Lava/Republic. 

The Buildup

There's been such buildup. In May 2014, Andy Biersack revealed to English publication Kerrang! that he had begun work on a solo project called Andy BLACK. Later that month he debuted his first-ever AB track, "They Don't Need to Understand," via Hot Topic. It quickly became apparent that this release wouldn't sound anything like the metalcore of Black Veil Brides. Andy wanted to experiment with his love of '80s goth sounds.

It was radio silence for a while there after (BVB is a pretty freakin' active band, leaving little room for side projects. You might remember they closed out Warped Tour most nights last summer.) In March of 2016, nearly a year after the first word of Andy BLACK, Biersack announced his full-length, The Shadow Side, was in the worksAround the same time, he announced a U.K. tour.

The Music

The first Andy BLACK-Shadow Side song arrived on March 21 of this year. It was called "We Don't Have to Dance," and boy howdy, does it sound nothing like Black Veil Brides! There was an accompanying black-and-white video, too, in which Biersack plays up his model-worthy good looks by rocking a James Dean-inspired leather jacket, ripped jeans and a slicked hairdo. It's no wonder that he keeps his fans swooning! You can peep that one below.

Fast forward a week or two later and Biersack released yet another song, "Stay Alive," featuring Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio (and now Blink-182, as the dude has taken the place of founding guitarist Tom DeLonge). He told Teen Vogue about the collaboration and his love of Alk3: "[They were] the first band that truly resonated to me and, hands down, the artist who had the most influence and impact on me as a songwriter." He continued, "Matt's voice helped me through so much throughout my formative stages and to have him come in and sing on a song about survival and the fear that can come from disparity was an incredible experience and one I will never forget."

A few more days passed, and on April 11, Andy shared "Ribcage" via BBC Radio 1, a single he's lovingly dubbed "Goth [Bruce] Springsteen." It's hard to disagree.


John "Feldy" Feldmann: The Goldfinger frontmanpop-punk producer mastermind is working on the entire Andy BLACK record. It makes sense: the pair have worked together in the past on various Black Veil Brides releases.

Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump: The man with the impossible falsetto has been spotted working with Feldy and BLACK.

The Used's Quinn Allman: ...and Allman was there, too!

Blink-182/Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba: The guy lays down some guest vocals on "Stay Alive."

5 Seconds of Summer's Ashton Irwin: Five weeks into the recording process, 5 Seconds of Summer drummer Ashton Irwin swung by Feldmann's studio to work with Biersack. Andy wrote on Instagram:

"Starting week 5 of #AndyBLACK with some kick ass drums! Thanks to the kind & talented @ashtonirwin for being so rad & thanks to @johnfeldy for working diligently to make this record so exciting! I am incredibly proud and stoked to share this with all of you! More updates coming! Stay tuned!"

My Chemical Romance's Gerard Way: He might not being doing stuff with MCR anymore, but Way's been seen working with Mr. Biersack. We're hoping this means for some Black Parade-esque moments on the release. Biersack shared a picture of the guys together on Instagram, captioning it: 

"What an incredible day in the studio with @johnfeldy & @gerardway on #AndyBLACK Thank you so much to Gerard for coming in today, it was an absolute pleasure working with you and talking about music, comics and life. An inspiring creative force and a true artist! This record just keeps getting more exciting! I can't wait for you all to hear it!"

The Shadow Side Tracklist:

01. Homecoming King
02. We Don't Have To Dance
03. Ribcage
04. Stay Alive (feat. Matt Skiba)
05. Love Was Made To Break
06. Beautiful Pain
07. Put The Gun Down
08. Drown Me Out
09. Paint It Black
10. Break Your Halo
11. Louder Than Your Love
12. Broken Pieces
13. The Void