April 20, 2016


Gone Is Gone (Members of Mastodon, At the Drive-In, QotSA) Share First Song

Rise Records
Rise Records

Last week we learned that Mastodon co-frontman/bassist Troy Sanders, Queens of the Stone Age guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen and drummer Tony Hajjar of At the Drive-In (newly reunited!) had formed Gone Is Gone. The news only came with a teaser and some interview commentary; today, it's music time.

Listen to "Violescent" below; it's, to quote the dearly departed Strapping Young Lad, heavy as a really heavy thing, full of industrial chugs and demonic pinch harmonics:

Gone Is Gone, which also features guitarist/keyboardist Mike Zarin, will play its first show L.A.'s Dragonfly on April 27, where New Language will be the openers. Then the self-titled debut EP hits on June 8. Here's the tracklist

1. "Violescent"
2. "Starlight"
3. "Stolen From Me"
4. "Character"
5. "One Divided"
6. "Praying From the Danger"
7. "Recede and Enter"
8. "This Chapter"

Next up, watch a Mastodon interview from the Fuse vault: