May 8, 2016


The Complete Guide To Radiohead’s 'A Moon Shaped Pool'

Jim Dyson/Getty Images
Jim Dyson/Getty Images


May 8, 2016: Radiohead, as promised, releases its ninth studio album online. It's called A Moon Shaped Pool, and includes the longtime fan favorites "True Love Waits" and "Identikit." The previously released "Burn the Witch" and "Daydreaming" are the first two songs on the 11-song track list. The album is made available on iTunes, on XL Recordings' website, and on streaming services like Apple Music and Tidal.


February 2013: Thom Yorke’s other band, Atoms For Peace, releases its debut album, Amok, two years after Radiohead’s 2011 album, The King of Limbs, is released.

July 2014: Radiohead plans to return to the studio in September 2014 after a prolonged hiatus.

September 2014: Thom Yorke surprise-releases his second solo album, Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, via BitTorrent.

September 2015: New studio photos are shared. Radiohead is actually recording new music!

December 2015: On Christmas morning, Radiohead shares an unused James Bond theme song, titled “Spectre.” “Last year we were asked to write a theme tune for the Bond movie Spectre.Yes we were. It didn't work out, but became something of our own, which we love very much,” the band writes.

January 2016: Radiohead announces its first live shows since 2012 with a handful of international festival dates. In March, the band will announce a proper world tour, and U.S. festivals like Lollapalooza and Outside Lands confirms the band as a 2016 headliner.

March 2016: Stanley Donwood, who has created all of the band's album covers and artwork since The Bendstells DIY Magazine that their new album is “a work of art,” and that it’s not done yet.

April 2016: Things start heating up on the Radiohead Rumor front. The band’s manager says that the new album is out in June. Days later, Radiohead fans receive mysterious leaflets with the phrase “Burn the Witch” in the mail. What does it all mean??

May 2016: All of Radiohead’s social media accounts go blank on May 1. On the morning of May 3, the band shares cryptic teasers of a stop-motion video on its Instagram account, which turn out to be scenes from the “Burn the Witch” music video.

Radiohead releases a chilling video for “Burn the Witch,” the first single from its ninth studio album, on May 3. The song is made available on all streaming sites, and the stop-motion video appears on YouTube, a platform which frontman Thom Yorke had previously condemned.

Three days later, Radiohead releases the video for "Daydreaming," a more glacial track, starring Thom Yorke. The video is directed by Paul Thomas Anderson. Along with the visual, Radiohead announces that its new album will be released on Sunday, May 8.


Nigel Godrich - Radiohead’s longtime producer and collaborator.

Paul Thomas Anderson - Acclaimed film director (Boogie Nights, There Will Be Blood, Inherent Vice), who directed the video for "Daydreaming."

Chris Hopewell - “Burn the Witch” video director, who wrote on Instagram following the video release, “The whole video was conceived, designed, built and animated in 14 days.”

Stanley Donwood - Artist behind every Radiohead album cover over the past two decades. He designed A Moon Shaped Pool's and shared some behind-the-scenes shots from the “Burn The Witch” music video.


1. “Burn the Witch”
2. “Daydreaming”
3. “Decks Dark”
4. “Desert Island Disk”
5. “Ful Stop”
6. “Glass Eyes”
7. “Identikit”
8. “The Numbers”
9. “Present Tense”
10. “Tinker Tailor Soldier Sailor Rich Man Poor Man Beggar Man Thief”
11. “True Love Waits”


May 8, 2016

For more of Fuse's Complete Guides, try:

The Complete Guide to Frank Ocean's Upcoming Second Album
The Complete Guide to Beyoncé's Lemonade
The Complete Guide to Kanye West's Turbo Grafx 16
The Complete Guide to Drake's Views