July 22, 2016


Korn Announce New Album Feat. Corey Taylor: Watch the 'Rotting in Vain' Video

Korn—is—baaaaaack. This morning the band announced its 12th studio album, The Serenity of Suffering, the follow-up to 2013's The Paradigm Shift. Featuring Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor and produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Foo FightersDeftonesMastodon), it's only the second record since the return of cofounding guitarist Brian "Head" Welch. It'll drop Oct. 21 on Roadrunner Records.

Check out the Rolling Stone–premiered video for the first The Serenity in Suffering single, "Rotting in Vain," up top. It's directed by Dean Karr and features Sons of Anarchy actor Tommy Flanagan. (There's something about SoA and nu-metal, huh? Just ask Marilyn Manson.)

Bands frequently tease a return to the style of their earliest, often most-beloved days; metal bands promise every time to bring something heavier than ever. In this case, it sounds like Korn is actually there. Purists will flip their shit when singer Jonathan Davis starts busting out the "Freak on a Leash"/"Twist"–style scatting at the 2:40 mark.

Here's what Davis has to say about the new song in a press release:

"'Rotting in Vain' was written about being in that black place, being in situations that I don't like in life—be it relationships, or feeling when you're stuck and you're just being abused or you don't like where you're at, and you just sit there and rot. It takes you years and years to figure out how to claw your way out. That's where 'Rotting in Vain' came from. I'm just sitting there, fucking dying and letting it happen for years and years and not helping myself to get out of that place. That's the vibe that inspired the song."

Pre-order the album here, and check out the tracklist and Ron English's art, which is giving us Follow the Leader, Korn, Issues and See You on the Other Side vibes all at once:

Korn's The Serenity of Suffering tracklist:
1. "Insane"
2. "Rotting in Vain"
3. "Black Is the Soul"
4. "The Hating"
5. "A Different World (feat. Corey Taylor)"
6. "Take Me"
7. "Everything Falls Apart"
8. "Die Yet Another Night"
9. "When You're Not There"
10. "Next in Line"
11. "Please Come for Me"

Korn are on the road with Rob Zombie for the Return of the Dreads Tour till Sept. 3; starting Sept. 24, they'll head out again with Breaking Benjamin for the Nocturnal Underground Tour.

Below, watch guitarist Brian "Head" Welch tell Fuse about his, then listen to him tell Fuse's Back of the Class podcast about the bridge between nu-metal and hip-hop in the '90s.