August 10, 2016


Netflix's 'Stranger Things' Original Score Arrives on Friday

Stranger Things is one of the most exciting series to pop up on Netflix, not just for its creepy storyline but for its equally chilling musical score. According to Pitchfork, the first volume of the show's official Stranger Things soundtrack will drop this week.

The release feature original music from Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein of Austin synth band S U R V I V E, who score the series. The first volume will be digitally released on Aug. 12, with the CD arriving Sept. 16. The second volume is set for digital release on Aug. 19 and CD release on Sept. 23.

Michael Stein said in a statement:

“We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show but being reserved enough that it wasn't ’80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so that felt modern. This was one of the qualities that drew them to our music in the first place. Having a familiarity with classic synths worked, but with an overall forward thinking approach.”

There's no confirmation of Stranger Things Season 2, but Netflix's chief executive Reed Hastings said it "would be dumb not to." 

Stranger Things Season 1 Soundtrack – Volume 1 tracklist:

1. Stranger Things
2. Kids
3. Nancy and Barb
4. This Isn’t You
5. Lay-Z-Boy
6. Friendship
7. Eleven
8. A Kiss
9. Castle Beyers
10. Hawkins
11. The Upside Down
12. After Sarah
13. One Blink For Yes
14. Photos in the Woods
15. Fresh Blood
16. Lamps
17. Hallucinations
18. Hanging Lights
19. Biking to School
20. Are You Sure?
21. Agents
22. Papa
23. Cops Are Good at Finding
24. No Weapons
25. Walking Through the Nether
26. She’ll Kill You
27. Run Away
28. No Autopsy
29. Dispatch
30. Joyce and Lonnie Fighting
31. Lights Out
32. Hazmat Suits
33. Theoretically
34. You Can Talk to Me
35. What Else Is There to Do?
36. Hawkins Lab

Before the soundtrack's release, enjoy Netflix's Spotify playlist of the classic jams used on the show and watch Rider Strong list his favorite horror movies for Fuse: