November 10, 2016


Childish Gambino's 'Awaken, My Love!' Album: See the Tracklist & Striking Cover Art

Ariel LeBeau for Fuse
Ariel LeBeau for Fuse

Update: Listen to the first song, the rap-less "Me and Your Mama," right here; everything about it is a total, beautiful surprise. AlsoChildish Gambino's Awaken, My Love! official tracklist:

1. "Me and Your Mama"
2. "Have Some Love"
3. "Boogieman"
4. "Zombies"
5. "Riot"
6. "Redbone"
7. "California"
8. "Terrified"
9. "Baby Boy"
10. "The Night Me and Your Momma Met"
11. "Stand Tall"

Original story: On Monday, a variety of sources were triangulated out of nowhere to form a pretty solid-looking rumor that the third Childish Gambino album Awaken, My Love, would see a Dec. 2. Now the actor/director/rapper/writer/stand-up Donald Glover has acknowledged the release on Twitter, sharing the cover art and educating us that the Sufjan Stevens–y title actually ends with a Sufjan Stevens–y exclamation point. Other than that, no info.

Glassnote Records, CG's label, also spotlighted the reveal:

We already assumed Awaken, My Love! would be the album that Gambino debuted at PHAROS, his Joshue Tree, Calif. festival/"album experience" event back in September. The through-line with this cover art and that stage outfit have us surer:

Gambino's last album was December 2013's Because the Internet. In October 2014 he dropped a combination mixtape/EP, STN MTN / Kauai. Earlier this year, he became a dad, debuted Season 1 of his FX series Atlanta, and got cast in both Spider-Man: Homecoming and the Star Wars Han Solo origin movie, as a young Lando Calrissian.

Next, watch Donald Glover tell Fuse why he's "hip-hop's dirty little secret":