March 22, 2017


First Posthumous Chuck Berry Song Arrives: Hear 'Big Boys' Feat. Tom Morello & Nathaniel Rateliff

Vladimir Artev/Epsilon/Getty Images
Vladimir Artev/Epsilon/Getty Images

Over the weekend, Chuck Berry's death at the age of 90 was reported with a bittersweet reminded that he still had a monumental album on the way, Chuck, his first in 38 years. Today we've got the rollicking first track, "Big Boys."

As soon as you hear that intro lick, and the inventor of rock-'n'-roll's utterly intact pipes singing another insta-toe-tapper, you may be both crushed that he's gone and overjoyed that we got him at all.

Listen to "Big Boys" below; it features singer-songwriter Nathaniel Rateliff and Rage Against the Machine/Audioslave guitarist Tom Morello, one hell of an innovator himself.

Chuck drops on June 16. It also features Gary Clark Jr., Berry's kids Charles Berry Jr. and Ingrid Berry, and grandson Charles Berry III. Berry's family shared the following on Facebook:

“Working to prepare the release of this record in recent months and in fact over the last several years brought him a great sense of joy and satisfaction. While our hearts are very heavy at this time, we know that he had no greater wish than to see this album released to the world, and we know of no better way to celebrate and remember his 90 years of life than through his music.”

Peruse the Chuck tracklist below. Does it get any better than a cut called "Lady B. Goode," especially when the rocker's statement about the album noted that it's "dedicated to my beloved Toddy," his wife of 68 years?

1. "Wonderful Woman"
2. "Big Boys"
3. "You Go to My Head"
4. "3/4 Time (Enchiladas)"
5. "Darlin'"
6. "Lady B. Goode"
7. "She Still Loves You"
8. "Jamaica Moon"
9. "Dutchman"
10. "Eyes of Man"

Get to know collaborator Nathaniel Rateliff next: