December 3, 2014


DJ Earworm's 2014 Megamix Stars Taylor, Iggy, Everyone Ever

DJ Earworm is the mash-up expert known for synthesizing the year's biggest pop songs into one tasty, danceable single, with a frenetic video to match. 

2014's "United State of Pop" cycles seamlessly though 25 jams in a tight four minutes. The Frankenstein-ed cuts include DJ Snake and Lil Jon's "Turn Down For What," Taylor Swift's "Shake It Off," Katy Perry and Juicy J's "Dark Horse," Iggy Azalea and Charli XCX's "Fancy," and basically every other smash that dominated the airwaves, the internet and the charts in the last twelve months.

DJ Earworm tells Billboard that "Do What You Want to Do"—the subtitle for the new "United State of Pop"—is "the most blended instrumental I’ve been able to achieve yet." He adds that "the decline of EDM" has changed his annual project from a throbbing club hit to something equally energetic but threaded with extra nuance. "It’s a little bit more diverse, and definitely softer than it’s been," he says.

Earlier this year, DJ Earworm released "Summersmash '14" and "Mash Up for What," both of which featured songs that made it into "Do What You Want to Do." The 2009 "United State of Pop" clip has nearly 45 million views on YouTube.