October 18, 2016


2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees: Tupac, Pearl Jam, Journey & More

Getty Images
Getty Images

Where the hell did the year go? It seems like yesterday we were announcing the 2016 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees, but we're already back. This year's new eligibility cutoff is 1991; the rule remains that you have to have been releasing music at least 25 years. The 2017 shortlist includes Tupac and Pearl Jam, both appearing on their first year of eligibility.

Below, enjoy your 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame shortlist.

First-time nominees:
Pearl Jam
Tupac Shakur
Bad Brains
Depeche Mode
Electric Light Orchestra
Jane’s Addiction
Joan Baez

Repeat nominees:
Chic (new record with 11 career nominations)
Joe Tex (fifth nomination)
J. Geils Band (fourth nomination)
Yes (third nomination)
Janet Jackson
The Zombies
The Cars

2017 will mark the fourth year fans can vote "alongside the more than 800 artists, historians and music industry insiders of the Rock Hall voting body," writes Rolling Stonewhich lets you vote on its site. You can throw you opinion in the hat until Dec. 6. The induction ceremony goes down at Brooklyn's Barclays Center in April and will be broadcast on HBO at a later date.

A big change will come this year, as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will only induct previously announced members of each act, limiting replacement members through the years. RS offers examples: 

"Pearl Jam have had five drummers, but only current drummer Matt Cameron and founding member Dave Krusen will be inducted should they make it in. Electric Light Orchestra has had many musicians come and go over the years, but just Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood, Bev Bevan and Richard Tandy made the cut. The classic Steve Perry lineup of Journey is listed along with founding keyboardist/singer Gregg Rolie."

2016's Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees were N.W.ACheap TrickDeep Purple, Chicago and Steve Miller. Next, watch an interview with Pearl Jam's Jeff Ament: